Skip to content

Georgians Calling on President to Reconsider Keystone LX Pipeline

View as a webpage

state of georgia - office of attorney general chris carr

GEORGIA – Attorney General Chris Carr and a coalition of 13 other attorneys general today called on President Joe Biden to reconsider his unilateral revocation of the 2019 Presidential Permit for the Keystone XL pipeline and advised him that the states are reviewing available legal options to protect their citizens and interests.

“Your decision will result in devastating damage to many of our states and local communities,” Carr and the attorneys general coalition wrote to Biden. “Having cudgeled the energy sector, your decision will increase heating and fuel costs for families and businesses across the country and disrupt other industries including agriculture, transportation, manufacturing, and even the affordability of consumer goods. Americans you were elected to serve will ultimately foot the bill in higher prices, lost jobs, and less security.”

In the letter, the attorneys general reiterate the harms Biden’s decision will inflict on Americans: thousands of displaced workers, increased reliance on energy produced in Russia and the Middle East, and lost economic activity and opportunity.

The attorneys general criticized Biden for failing to consult states on the costs to consumers and economic impacts, setting a dangerous precedent for other permits and projects, and “virtue signaling to special interests.”

“Please be aware that the states are reviewing available legal options to protect our residents and sovereign interests. In the meantime, we urge you to reconsider your decision to impose crippling economic injuries on states, communities, families, and workers across the country,” Carr and the attorneys general wrote.

The effort was led by Montana Attorney General Austin Knudsen. Attorneys general from the following states also joined the coalition: Alabama, Arkansas, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, and West Virginia.​

Leave a Comment