Skip to content

Georgia taxpayers impacted by Idalia qualify for tax relief

IR-2023-168, Sept. 13, 2023

WASHINGTON — The Internal Revenue Service today announced tax relief for individuals and businesses affected by Idalia in 28 of the state’s 159 counties in Georgia. These taxpayers now have until Feb. 15, 2024, to file various federal individual and business tax returns and make tax payments. This is similar to relief already being provided in Florida and South Carolina.

The IRS is offering relief to any area designated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Currently, 28 counties within Georgia qualify: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Berrien, Brantley, Brooks, Bulloch, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Echols, Emanuel, Glynn, Jeff Davis, Jenkins, Lanier, Lowndes, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Thomas, Tift, Ware and Wayne counties. Individuals and households that reside or have a business in these counties qualify for tax relief. The current list of eligible localities is always available on the disaster relief page on

For more information visit: IRS


Leave a Comment